Teaching & Learning

“Intelligence plus character – that is the goal of true education.”
Martin Luther King

Mt Maria students experience learning through both the formal curriculum structured around the ACARA key learning areas as well as the social, emotional, physical and spiritual programs that take place inside and outside classrooms.

Mt Maria College’s vision for the curriculum is to be one that responds to student needs, societal and education demands as well as the distinctive mission and Marist ethos of our College.

Consequently, we have developed a Vision for Learning which takes in account the type of learner we aspire to graduate from Mt Maria and the teaching required to achieve this:

Mt Maria’s Vision for Learning supports our students to develop a growth mindset which will enable their progress into self-directed, life-long learners who aspire to achieve their potential and take responsibility for their learning.  In order to make our vision a reality, we have high expectations of our students and of our staff. 

Our teachers aspire to be positive, enthusiastic and engaging and to facilitate teaching and learning experiences which will challenge and motivate our students. As an inclusive learning community, we recognise the importance of acknowledging the achievements and effort of all and celebrating our successes.

Through positive relationships nurtured by our Catholic Marist tradition, we endeavour to build a community where our students will mature into meaningful, compassionate and confident contributors to society.

The College has structured learning experiences to cater for a variety of student needs. Students in Year 7-10 are allocated to extension, core and support classes to best meet these needs. Students in Year 11 and 12 may be extended or accelerated in areas of strength through supplementary courses offered through Universities, TAFE or other training providers.

Key Learning Areas (KLAs)

KLAs are a way of grouping subjects that have compatible or similar learning outcomes despite differences in content. This reflects an educational focus on processes and skills and not just on content. Each KLA varies in the amount of time a student needs to study in that area.

The Key Learning Areas at Mt Maria College are:

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • The Social Sciences
  • Science
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Business and Information Technology
  • Visual Art
  • Performing Arts
  • Technology
  • Vocational Education and Training

Year 10
The curriculum in Year 10 is designed as an Introduction to Senior Schooling. Year 10 offers students both a broad based sample of the Key Learning Areas (KLAs) and an ability to commence specialised studies in KLAs.

Senior Pathways Subject Selection Handbook

To assist your Senior Schooling subject selection process, please click here to download the Mt Maria College Senior Pathways Subject Selection Handbook.

Leave a Reply